eNLC Update & Reminder

eNLC Update & Reminder

The NCSBN’s new enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) is in full swing. On January 19, 2018, the eNLC was implemented with the long-term goal of nationwide participation in the compact agreement. A few things have changed since then — so here a few updates and helpful reminders.

Fast facts to know about the eNLC:

1. The only original NLC state that still has pending eNLC legislation is Rhode Island, but 24 of the 25 NLC states have now implemented the eNLC.

         What that means for Rhode Island:

         Since Rhode Island is the only NLC state that remains, travel nurses with a Rhode Island license must get a single state license to work in any other state except Colorado and New Mexico*.

2. *Because Colorado and New Mexico did not enact the eNLC until 1/18/18, just prior to the implementation date (1/19/18), they are members of both the original NLC and the eNLC for a 6-month period. This ends on 7/18/18, and both states will be an eNLC member only.

3. So far, five states that were not NLC states have implemented the eNLC:

  • Georgia
  • Oklahoma
  • Wyoming
  • Florida
  • West Virginia

4. Kansas has passed eNLC legislation, but it will not implement until July 1, 2019.

5. Louisiana has passed legislation to become part of the eNLC, but no implementation date has been set.

6. States with pending eNLC legislation include:

  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • New Jersey
  • New York

7. A main factor in more states getting on board with the eNLC is the 11 uniform licensure requirements a nurse must meet to obtain a multistate license. This adds extra protections through stricter requirements, which led to many non-NLC states to enact the eNLC legislation, and will hopefully lead to more state participation.

Check out this eNLC state map to find out which states are in the eNLC.